HomeSite Map Welcome to the Wildlife Animals


Bear Gifts

Bears are mammals of the family Ursidae. Common characteristics of modern bears include a large body with stocky legs, a long snout, shaggy hair, plantigrade paws with five nonretractile claws, and a short tail. While the polar bear is mostly carnivorous and the giant panda feeds almost entirely on bamboo, the remaining six species are omnivorous, with largely varied diets including both plants and animals. With the exceptions of courting individuals and mothers with their young, bears are typically solitary animals.


Bears are any of a family Ursidae of the order Carnivora.

Bear Classification:

Phylum: Chordata
Class: Mammalia
Order: Carnivora
Family: Ursidae

Other Names:

Bear in Foreign Languages:

Albanian: ari / ariu
Arabic: dubb
Armenian: arj
Belarusian: mjadzvdz
Bengali: bhaluk
Bulgarian: mecok / mecka
Burmese: wet-wun
Catalan: s
Cherokee: yonv / yona
Cornish: arth
Cree: maskwa
Crimean Tatar: ayuv
Czech: medved
Danish: bjrn
Dutch: beer/ berin
Esperanto: urso
Estonian: karu
Faroese: bjrn
Finnish: karhu / otso / mesikmmen
French: ours
Georgian: dat'vi
German: Br
Gothic: baira
Greek: arkoda / rktos
Greenlandic: nanoq
Hebrew: deba / debo
Hindi: bhaalo / bhalu
Hopi: jhoonaw
Hungarian: medve
Icelandic: bjrn
Indonesian: beruang
Inuktitut: atiqpuq
Irish: bar donn / mathin
Italian: orso
Japanese: kuma
Korean: gom
Kurdish: hir
Latin: ursus / ursa
Latvian: lacis
Lithuanian: lokys / meka
Low German: Br
Luxembourgish: Bier
Macedonian: mcka
Malay: beruang
Maltese: ors / debb
Mandarin: xing
Mongolian: baavgai
Navajo: shash
Old English: bera
Old Irish: art / mathgamain
Old Turkic: adig
Persian: xers
Polish: niedzwiedz / niedzwiedzica
Portuguese: urso
Romanian: urs
Russian: medvd / medvdica
Sardinian: ursu / ssulu
Scottish Gaelic: mathan
Slovakian: medved
Slovenian: medved / medvedka
Spanish: oso
Swahili: dubu
Swedish: bjrn
Tagalog: oso
Tajik: xirs
Thai: mii
Turkish: ayi
Turkmen: ay
Ukrainian: vedmd'
Urdu: balu
Uzbek: ayiq
Welsh: arth
West Frisian: bear
Yiddish: ber


Conservation Status:

Species: There are a 8 known species of bears. The 8 living species of bear include: Asiatic Black Bear, Black Bear, Brown Bear, Polar Bear, Panda Bear , Sloth Bear, Spectacled Bear and Sun Bear.

Habitat: Bears live all over the world, they are not however found in Antarctica or Australia. Their habitats range from tundra to dense rainforests and high mountains.

Description: Bears have massive bodies, coarse heavy fur, relatively short limbs, and almost rudimentary tails. Bears are covered with thick fur, which protects them in the severe cold that most species encounter in their habitats. The polar bear, brown bear, and American black bear have solid color coats. The sun bear, sloth bear, spectacled bear, and Asiatic black bear have dark coats with light patterns on the chest and face.

Diet: Bears are omnivores, the eat both plants and meat. The exact make up of their food prefences varies from species to species.

Senses: Bears have an acute sense of smell and a natural curiosity.

Life Span: Most species of bears have an average life span of about 25 years.

Bear Gifts



Copyright © 2005-2013 DR Management
All rights reserved
Home | Wildlife Web Templates | Animal PowerPoint Templates | Wildlife Logos | Wildlife Photos